✈️ The Rise of Personal Holding Companies

Inside: Exploring the Future of Entrepreneurship

First-time traveler? Welcome aboard, Jetsetter! 👋🏼

Before we take-off, there’s one thing you should do:

Join 10,000+ entrepreneurs by subscribing here.

Welcome to First Class Founders, your favorite destination to learn proven strategies to grow your mindset, audience, and business.

Before we begin… a quick word from our sponsor.

📢 Sponsor: Castmagic

Jetsetters, as you may know, I hand-pick all my sponsors from companies I truly believe in.

If you’re a creator, you need to try Castmagic for your content engine.

All of my excerpts, takeaways, and summaries? They're crafted using Castmagic. I’ve tried countless number of AI-driven transcription services, but Castmagic is the best.

Looking to spice up your content? Use Castmagic’s AI prompts to generate irresistible titles, fetch quotes, create time-stamped overviews, and much more.

You can even put your sales calls, customer discovery calls, or any type of audio to generate summaries with action items.

Basically, Castmagic works for any type of audio content.

I can’t recommend it enough.

EXCLUSIVE BONUS: To make this a no-brainer, use code FOUNDERS30 to grab 30% off the first 3 months of your subscription.

Jetsetters,

Have you ever considered setting up a business structure that could save you taxes, protect your assets, and still give you the freedom we all desire?

Today, I’m diving deep into the world of Personal Holding Companies. It's not just for the rich and famous. It's a tool that allows you to pursue multiple interests while limiting your liability across your entire business. Find out why the future of entrepreneurship is Personal.

On today’s episode, you’ll learn:

  • 💻 Introduction to PHC Philosophy

  • 📈 Why PHCs are Gaining Popularity

  • 🏆 How To Get Started With Your PHC

Here are a few juicy excerpts from today’s episode to get you flowing:

The Importance of Entity Structure: "These are basically corporate structuring vehicles to put some distance between you, the person, and the business itself." — Yong-Soo Chung (07:48)

Converting Hobbies into Business: "If you manage to convert your hobbies into a business and establish it as an LLC within your Personal Holding Company, suddenly all your hobby-related expenses become business expenses, which means you get to write it all off while filing taxes, and with enough time and dedication, you can create a cash flow positive business out of it." — Yong-Soo Chung (14:20)

Here’s the Hyper-Visual summary for today’s episode.

Click the visual below to enlarge it.

This episode is one you should bookmark to revisit over and over again.

Let’s get down to business!

📢 Sponsor: GrowthJet 

E-commerce fulfillment is a pain. One time, one of my customers emailed me asking me why we had shipped them an empty box. It turns out the 3PL had stolen the $1,000 product and shipped an empty box to my customer. Yeah, that was not fun.

So, I launched GrowthJet, a Climate-Neutral Certified third-party logistics company for e-commerce brands.

We pick, pack, and ship your orders from our 39,000 square foot warehouse without any hassles. You even have a dedicated on-site account manager.

GrowthJet is the 3PL that I wish I had when I launched my own brand, Urban EDC.

If you have an e-commerce shop, check out GrowthJet and hit me up!

✈️ First Time Listener? Here’s What You Missed…

🏷 Lost & Found

Did you miss these? Each week, I round up all sorts of interesting things I found on the internet that you missed. Enjoy!

📝 Yong-Soo’s Weekly Journal

Each week, I reflect on lessons learned growing my Personal Holding Company — the good, the ugly, and everything in-between in raw, unfiltered, free-form writing.

8 Lessons I Wish I Learned

8 years ago, my life changed forever.

I quit my 9-5 job to start my own company.

Since then, I made $20 million over 8 years being my own boss.

Do I have freedom? Yes.

Do I love my work? Yes.

Do I enjoy my life? Yes.

But it wasn’t easy.

I’ve lost friends, almost went bankrupt, and been verbally attacked by a client… on Christmas Day.

(I’ll never eat another Panettone again in my life.)

I learned a lot over the last 8 years.

Here are 8 lessons I wish I learned sooner:

1. Never doubt yourself, ever.

Entrepreneurship is a rollercoaster ride. One day, you’ll be on Cloud 9. The next day, you’ll be crying for mercy.

It’s all part of the game. You’ll never make it if you don’t believe in yourself.

Stay positive and always believe in yourself.

You’ll have to be your biggest supporter of yourself at times.

When everything is crumbling around you, never doubt yourself.

2. Discipline will determine how far you’ll go.

Starting a business is like giving birth to a newborn.

Your job is to watch it relentlessly until it can walk, feed itself, and survive on its own.

And to do that, you need discipline.

You’ll need to think about your business 24/7 for the first several years.

No weekends, no holidays.

You’ll lose some friends. I did.

But don’t give up.

3. Push yourself to dream bigger.

It’s just as hard building something small vs. big.

Your impact is just greater when you dream bigger.

I thought I was building a tiny ecommerce shop to make a decent living.

Now, I realize it’s just another piece in my @PersonalHoldCo portfolio of SMB businesses.

Your own vision of yourself is how far you’ll go.

Anything is possible.

So why not dream bigger?

4. Working hard ≠ More money

Most profitable business in my Personal HoldCo?

It made me $3.3 million last year.

It's also the one I spent the least time on.

Working hard doesn’t mean you’ll make more money.

So, what is it then?

More leverage = More money

Optimize for leverage.

5. Time is a compounding mechanism.

Whether you like it or not, you are compounding something every single second.

If you’re in a positive cycle, you compound positive growth.

I’d you’re in a negative cycle, you compound negative growth.

Time doesn’t care who you are: rich or poor.

Time just amplifies your positioning.

Get on time’s good side or else you’ll find yourself in trouble real fast.

6. Get rich by not getting rich.

I never went into this game trying to get rich.

I was just trying to build something meaningful.

Over the past 8 years, I’ve reinvested every penny I can back into my business.

The longer you can delay your own gratification, the bigger the opportunity.

Don’t cash in your chips too early.

7. Problems will get bigger as you grow.

I used to think that my problems would go away as my company grew.

Boy was I wrong.

The problems will find you. Trust me.

If your problems are getting bigger, it’s a sign that you are growing.

It’s a good sign. Embrace them.

8. This too shall pass.

My dad used to tell me this all the time. I never knew what he meant… until I started my own business.

Every once in a while, you’ll run into obstacles that seem bigger than you think you can handle.

It’s almost like this outside force of energy smacking you in the face.

Whether it’s a lawsuit, finances, or team leadership issues, you’ll run into some pretty nasty situations.

Just remember that this too shall pass.

Everything will be OK.

Thanks for reading!

Yong-Soo

📢 Sponsor: Spotted by Humphrey

Ever had that moment where you see something perfect for your four-legged friend and think, "Oh! My baby would absolutely rock this!"? Yeah, me too.

Introducing Spotted by Humphrey. It’s like a treasure chest, but instead of gold and jewels, it’s filled with the latest adorable dog toys, trendy accessories, and pawsome deals! (Did I just say "pawsome"? Yup, I did.)

So, next time you're up late browsing, maybe with your pup snoozing beside you, wander on over. Maybe you’ll spot that perfect little something you didn’t even know you were looking for.

If you have a dog, sniff out the DEAL$ and wag-worthy finds at Spotted by Humphrey.

🎛 Metrics Dashboard

I'm building First Class Founders in public. Each week, I share my numbers exclusively through subscribers of this newsletter only.

Newsletter:

  • Subscribers: 10,236

  • Open Rate: 42.15%

  • Click Rate: 4.17%

👍🏻 Recommendation: Thinking of starting a newsletter? I use and recommend Beehiiv with powerful features like boosts, recommendations, segmentations, automations, and detailed subscriber metrics.

Podcast:

  • 90-Day Downloads: 9,147

  • 30-Day Downloads: 3,121

  • 7-Day Downloads: 870

👍🏻 Recommendation: Best hosting platform for your podcast? I use and recommend Buzzsprout. Get $20 when you sign-up using this link.

💺 Jetsetter of the Week

Unicorner is a newsletter that sends the best early-stage startups straight to your inbox.

Here's the pitch:

"Every Monday morning, you'll get a 2-minute rundown on a promising company with the potential to be a future unicorn.

Learn about the next Netflix, Uber, or Airbnb before they're the next Netflix, Uber, or Airbnb."

You can subscribe here.

✈️ Travel Further With Me

Here are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. Join First Class Founders Membership:

    • Early access to new episodes each week

    • Uncut extended guest interviews that never aired

    • Private ad-free podcast with bonus content each week

  2. Get In Front of My Audience:

    • 25k+ Twitter followers

    • 12k+ Podcast subscribers

    • 10,000+ Newsletter subscribers

  3. Work with Me:

    • Broader strategies on a particular topic

    • Dig deeper into specific tactics on a topic

💬 Final Word

Hey all, last Friday was unlucky Friday the 13th.

Well, luck is about to change on a dime.

This Friday, I’m dropping a bonus episode when I was interviewed on Joe Casabona’s podcast How I Built it.

He did an amazing job with the production of this episode and I am excited to share it.

Look for it in your First Class Founders podcast feed!

See you next week.

Yong-Soo Chung — Serial Entrepreneur, Podcaster

‏‏‎

P.S. How did you like today's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.