✈️ Personal HoldCo of Tim Stoddart of Copyblogger

Inside: How to Find Your Purpose in the Business

First-time traveler? Welcome aboard, Jetsetter! 👋🏼

Before we take-off, there’s one thing you should do:

Join 12,000+ entrepreneurs by subscribing here.

Welcome to First Class Founders, your favorite destination to learn proven strategies to grow your mindset, audience, and business.

Before we begin… a quick word from our sponsor.

📢 Sponsor: Riverside

Jetsetters, you know that I'm super picky about which sponsors I work with. Well, I'm super happy to have Riverside as our sponsor for this episode. Why? Because I love using Riverside to record all my guest interviews on this show.

Yup, that's right. My producer and I use Riverside as part of our podcast production process.

I love Riverside for its seamless recording process with excellent audio quality and backup recording. We also use it to analyze transcripts and extract the best content, enhanced by AI.

Riverside is completely free to sign-up and get started for your first 2 hours. Then, use code "FIRSTCLASS" to get 20% off any paid plan.

Trust me, you'll love using Riverside as much as I do.

🖥️ Tim Stoddart (Copyblogger)’s Personal HoldCo

My friend Tim Stoddart (@TimStodz), owner of the popular Copyblogger brand, has an interesting background. He stumbled into his first business, then built a Personal HoldCo around it!

His story was so similar to mine, I just had to get him on the podcast to share it with us. So, this week, I’m sharing my rich conversation with successful entrepreneur Tim Stoddart.

He discusses his incredible transition from a troubled youth in Philadelphia to a sober entrepreneur with a multi-million dollar Personal HoldCo portfolio.

Today, you’ll learn:

  • 📊 How to Find Your Purpose

  • 💰 How to Effectively Write Online

  • 💡 Three Criteria for Choosing Businesses

  • 🖥️ How to Replicate Models to Build and Scale Businesses

Here’s the Hyper-Visual summary for today’s episode.

(Click the visual below to enlarge it.)

Here are a few juicy excerpts from today’s episode to get you flowing:

Foundation: "I write and I delegate. I write because I think being a good writer is the most valuable skill that you could ever really have. And I delegate because I've learned that as you grow a company, it's the most foundational thing you could ever do." — Tim Stoddart (04:03)

Wealth Creation: "Here's where my head goes. I'm not bored at all. And there's a part of me that thinks you want to get out before you get bored. Right. Because then like you have leverage that you don't need to sell. Like I never want to get in a position where I need to sell something." — Tim Stoddart (21:45)

I promise you this episode is full of incredible insights that I just can't wait to share with you!

📢 Sponsor: The Bottleneck

Are you stuck dealing with the day-to-day admin tasks of running a business? Shouldn't you spend your time planning how to grow the business efficiently?

If you want to step up the game, read The Bottleneck.

Crafted by a former YC-backed COO of a $300M startup, this funky magazine meets startup guide is the newsletter you didn't know you needed.

Join over 20,600 COOs and business operators (yes, they're growing faster than your to-do list) who already made the smart choice.

Here's what's in store for you:

✅ Operational efficiency toolkit for early-stage startups

✅ Weekly tips and resources to help build, manage, and scale your startup

✅ Community of experienced operators to learn how to best run your business

Join the Bottleneck now!

✈️ First Time Listener? Here’s What You Missed…

🏷 Lost & Found

Did you miss these? Each week, I round up all sorts of interesting things I found on the internet that you missed. Enjoy!

🎛 Metrics Dashboard

I'm building First Class Founders in public. Each week, I share my numbers exclusively through subscribers of this newsletter only.

Newsletter:

  • Subscribers: 12,344

  • Open Rate: 56.13%

  • Click Rate: 3.20%

👍🏻 Recommendation: Thinking of starting a newsletter? I use and recommend Beehiiv with powerful features like boosts, recommendations, segmentations, automations, and detailed subscriber metrics.

Podcast:

  • 90-Day Downloads: 7,007

  • 30-Day Downloads: 2,244

  • 7-Day Downloads: 563

👍🏻 Recommendation: Are you looking for a world-class podcast producer? My amazing producer is looking for new clients. He’s the best I’ve ever worked – I recommend him 100%. Hit ‘reply’ to this email if you want an intro!

📢 Sponsor: YOUR BRAND

See what I did there?

All sponsorship placements are booked up with only one more weekly spot left until Q4 2024.

We have an engaged B2B audience of 12,000+ founders, creators, SMB owners, and digital entrepreneurs with 54% opens, 5% click throughs.

Past sponsors include: Riverside, Castmagic, AppSumo, Swell, Athyna, Portless, and Chargeflow.

This is your chance to work with us before all of our slots sell out

Details can be found here.

💺 Jetsetter of the Week

Best Ever CRE is a newsletter dedicated to teaching commercial real estate. They offer featured articles and guides written by industry experts, covering topics ranging from property due diligence and financial analysis to lease negotiation and property management best practices.

Here's the pitch:

"Grow your wealth and become an even better investor with the Best Ever Newsletter. Each week you'll receive expert tips, the latest news, and free tools from the commercial real estate industry for free. Join over 18,500 readers who are learning, investing, and closing deals with confidence."

You can subscribe here for free.

✈️ Travel Further With Me

Here are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. Join First Class Founders Membership:

    • Early access to new episodes each week

    • Uncut extended guest interviews that never aired

    • Private ad-free podcast with bonus content each week

  2. Get In Front of My Audience:

    • 25k+ Twitter followers

    • 12k+ Podcast subscribers

    • 12,000+ Newsletter subscribers

  3. Work with Me:

    • Broader strategies on a particular topic

    • Dig deeper into specific tactics on a topic

💬 Final Word

My wife’s due date is coming up and we’re both extremely nervous and extremely excited.

We also have two crazy French bulldogs in our household so that’ll be interesting!

I’ve been asking for newborn baby tips from friends and family.

So, why not ask you, my amazing newsletter subscriber?

If you have any newborn baby tips that you think I should know (especially around sleep training!), just hit reply and let me know. I’m all ears!

See you all next week.

Yong-Soo Chung — Serial Entrepreneur, Podcaster

‏‏‎

P.S. How did you like today's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.