✈️ What I Wish I Knew Before I Became a Creator

Don't Make The Same Mistakes I Did

First-time traveler? Welcome aboard, Jetsetter! 👋🏼

Before we take-off, there’s one thing you should do:

Join 9,000+ entrepreneurs by subscribing here.

Welcome to First Class Founders, your favorite destination to learn proven strategies to grow your mindset, audience, and business.

Before we begin… a quick word from our sponsor.

📢 Sponsor: Jay Abraham’s Business Wealth Without Risk

Jetsetters, I’m pumped to partner up with Jay Abraham to bring you his latest book launch event (free).

Jay is an entrepreneur I’ve admired for a while now.

This special training & live launch event for his latest book will be incredible!

It’s free to sign-up and register.

P.S. Jay will be coming on as a guest on this podcast soon! Stay tuned…

Jetsetters,

Have you ever wondered why your content isn't hitting the mark? You're putting in all the hard work, creating content day in and day out, yet it feels like you're just shouting into the wind.

I get it. Because I've been there. I thought that just putting out great content would be enough to make me a success. But boy, was I wrong! I soon found myself posting into the void, while other creators seemingly effortlessly thrived. It was disheartening, to say the least.

Today, I’ll dive into my personal journey as a content creator. I’ll share my six mistakes and explain how you can avoid them.

In this episode, I talk about:

  • 📈 The Importance of Building a Personal Brand

  • 🏆 How to Build Trust, Credibility, and Connection

  • 🕰 Building a Targeted Audience and Refining Content

Here are a few juicy excerpts from today’s episode to get you flowing:

The Power of Networks: "Every creator must build a strong connection with both their followers and their network of like-minded creators to boost their content." — Yong-Soo Chung (14:41)

The Power of Mentors: "Over the course of my creator journey, I connected with several creators, many of whom became my mentors. I learned a lot from them and absorbed a lot of their knowledge and teachings. Even today, I constantly refer back to them and their words in my episodes and newsletters. Their words form the foundation of a lot of my ideas and beliefs, but that's the thing they're supposed to provide me with, just the foundation." — Yong-Soo Chung (24:00)

This is a powerful episode that you don’t want to miss!

Let’s get down to business!

📢 Sponsor: Swell AI

Jetsetters, I’m super excited to announce Swell AI as our sponsor for First Class Founders!

Swell AI the best AI Writer for Podcasters. I love using it as part of my podcast workflow. It helps me with my show notes, transcripts, episode titles, episode summaries, and a whole lot more.

Cody, the founder of Swell AI is the most helpful, down-to-earth founder you’ll meet.

If you have a podcast, do yourself a favor and check out Swell AI.

✈️ First Time Listener? Here’s What You Missed…

🏷 Lost & Found

Did you miss these? Each week, I round up all sorts of interesting things I found on the internet that you missed. Enjoy!

📝 Yong-Soo’s Weekly Journal

Each week, I reflect on lessons learned growing my Personal Holding Company — the good, the ugly, and everything in-between in raw, unfiltered, free-form writing.

When You Should Hire an Operator

Last week, I posted about the time when one of my operators at my Personal Holding Company turned on me:

The biggest pain point in a Personal Holding Company is knowing when, where, and how to hire an operator to run your business.

Today, I’ll cover when you should hire an operator.

Let’s dig in…

Art, Not Science

This is an art, not a science.

There isn’t a perfect time.

It’s a balance of intuition, your interest, your own time, your company’s finances, among many other variables.

However, it is important to start thinking about hiring an operator as soon as possible so you can shape your company to run without you.

When you start a business, you should always be the operator. If you acquire a new business, you should quickly ramp up your knowledge to be the operator.

Why is this so important?

It’s your new baby and it needs to survive.

You should know the business inside out in case something happens and you need to step in.

After you survive the early stages, you can start identifying what you’re looking for in an operator.

This process is important because if you bring in an operator too early, they may not have the skill sets you need.

For example, the operator for my company UrbanEDC.com was plugged into the everyday carry community with strong relationships with makers and vendors. This was a huge boost for us as we grew over the past 2-3 years. I wouldn’t have known how important this position was until I understood the market.

It’s critical to understand that who you bring in at the early stage may not be who you need at a later stage.

In other words, you may need to re-evaluate the market and see if the needs of your business to grow to the next level needs a different type of operator.

Companies do this frequently, replacing CEOs when they feel the company has outgrown the skillsets of a particular CEO.

You, as the business owner, should be aware of changing market conditions and respond accordingly.

The best operators will adapt to the changing market and learn the skills to grow into the next phases of the company. But these operators are A-Level operators and difficult to find.

If you do find them, make sure you have an attractive compensation plan for them. Trust me, it’s worth it!

Hope this was helpful!

See you next week. ✌🏼

📢 Sponsor: GrowthJet

E-commerce fulfillment is a pain. One time, one of my customers emailed me asking me why we had shipped them an empty box. It turns out the 3PL I was working with had stolen the $1,000 product and shipped an empty box to my customer. Yeah, that was not fun.

So, I launched GrowthJet, a Climate-Neutral Certified third-party logistics company for e-commerce brands.

GrowthJet is the 3PL that I wish I had when I launched my own brand, Urban EDC.

If you have an e-commerce shop, check out GrowthJet and hit me up!

🎛 Metrics Dashboard

I'm building First Class Founders in public. Each week, I share my numbers exclusively through subscribers of this newsletter only.

Newsletter:

  • Subscribers: 9,539

  • Open Rate: 41.14%

  • Click Rate: 4.18%

👍🏻 Recommendation: Thinking of starting a newsletter? I use and recommend Beehiiv with powerful features like boosts, recommendations, segmentations, automations, and detailed subscriber metrics.

Podcast:

  • 90-Day Downloads: 8,569

  • 30-Day Downloads: 3,316

  • 7-Day Downloads: 935

👍🏻 Recommendation: Best hosting platform for your podcast? I use and recommend Buzzsprout. Get $20 when you sign-up using this link.

💺 Jetsetter of the Week

The Deviant Mindset is a newsletter that provides insights and actionable strategies to help make every part of the creator's business journey better.

Here's the pitch:

"Become a part of a 3000+ creator community. Weekly insights to build, scale and monetize your business."

You can subscribe here.

✈️ Travel Further With Me

Here are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. Join First Class Founders Membership:

    • Early access to new episodes each week

    • Uncut extended guest interviews that never aired

    • Private ad-free podcast with bonus content each week

  2. Get In Front of My Audience:

    • 25k+ Twitter followers

    • 12k+ Podcast subscribers

    • 9,000+ Newsletter subscribers

  3. Work with Me:

    • Broader strategies on a particular topic

    • Dig deeper into specific tactics on a topic

💬 Final Word

Hi all,

Quick note - sponsorship spots for First Class Founders are filling fast!

If you or someone you know want to get in front of my audience of founders, creators, and SMB owners, hit reply and let me know.

Thank you all and see you next week!

Yong-Soo Chung — Serial Entrepreneur, Podcaster

‏‏‎

P.S. How did you like today's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.