✈️ Don't Make These Design Mistakes

Inside: How to Build Your Brand Identity

First-time traveler? Welcome aboard, Jetsetter! 👋🏼

Before we take-off, there’s one thing you should do:

Join 12,000+ entrepreneurs by subscribing here.

Welcome to First Class Founders, your favorite destination to learn proven strategies to grow your mindset, audience, and business.

Before we begin… a quick word from our sponsor.

📢 Sponsor: Riverside

Jetsetters, you know that I'm super picky about which sponsors I work with. Well, I'm super happy to have Riverside as our sponsor for this episode. Why? Because I love using Riverside to record all my guest interviews on this show.

Yup, that's right. My producer and I use Riverside as part of our podcast production process.

I love Riverside for its seamless recording process with excellent audio quality and backup recording. We also use it to analyze transcripts and extract the best content, enhanced by AI.

Riverside is completely free to sign-up and get started for your first 2 hours. Then, use code "FIRSTCLASS" to get 20% off any paid plan.

Trust me, you'll love using Riverside as much as I do.

🎨 Don't Make These Design Mistakes: How to Build Your Brand Identity with Nate Kadlac

How do you design a personal brand that truly reflects you, stands out and captivates your audience?

This week, I sit down with my friend Nate Kadlac (@kadlac), a talented designer and CEO of Approachable Design. Nate guides us through the crucial elements of your personal brand identity: Logo, Font, Color, Elements & Motifs, and Visual Layout. Nate will also tell us how to make key design decisions that align with your brand values for each of these elements.

Today, you’ll learn:

  • 💻 The Four Key Elements

  • 💰 The G.E.O.S. Framework

  • 📈 How to Make Key Design Decisions

  • 📱 How to Design a Great Personal Brand Website

Here’s the Hyper-Visual summary for today’s episode.

(Click the visual below to enlarge it.)

Here are a few juicy excerpts from today’s episode to get you flowing:

Choosing Fonts for Personal Branding: "They don't have to be the same. I think it's it's really about what appeals to you, what speaks to you. It's just one thing to kind of know about these things that people will feel a certain way. Not that you need to make a choice based on what people feel." — Nate Kadlac (19:04)

Design Tips from Experts: "A designer's secret is that most of us never use pure black or pure white. Our eyes read better like text that's just slightly off that black end is is a little bit more readable because it's not high contrast. High contrast tires our eyes out and we want to use it for design to kind of like grab attention." — Nate Kadlac (28:31)

This episode will get your creative business juices flowing!

📢 Sponsor: Spotted By Humphrey

Jetsetters, I’ve mentioned my French bulldog, Humphrey before. But did you know he has his own boutique shop?

Introducing Spotted by Humphrey, Humphrey’s very own shop. It’s filled with the latest Humphrey-approved adorable dog toys, trendy accessories, and pawsome deals! (Wait, did I just say "pawsome"? Yup, I did.)

So, next time you're up late browsing with your pup snoozing beside you, wander on over and pamper your fur-baby with the perfect gift.

If you have a dog, sniff out the DEAL$ and wag-worthy finds at Spotted by Humphrey.

Use code FIRSTCLASS15 to get 15% off your next order. 🐾

✈️ First Time Listener? Here’s What You Missed…

🏷 Lost & Found

Did you miss these? Each week, I round up all sorts of interesting things I found on the internet that you missed. Enjoy!

🎛 Metrics Dashboard

I'm building First Class Founders in public. Each week, I share my numbers exclusively through subscribers of this newsletter only.

Newsletter:

  • Subscribers: 12,124

  • Open Rate: 48.15%

  • Click Rate: 3.16%

👍🏻 Recommendation: Thinking of starting a newsletter? I use and recommend Beehiiv with powerful features like boosts, recommendations, segmentations, automations, and detailed subscriber metrics.

Podcast:

  • 90-Day Downloads: 7,099

  • 30-Day Downloads: 2,537

  • 7-Day Downloads: 531

👍🏻 Recommendation: Are you looking for a world-class podcast producer? My amazing producer is looking for new clients. He’s the best I’ve ever worked – I recommend him 100%. Hit ‘reply’ to this email if you want an intro!

📢 Sponsor: YOUR BRAND

See what I did there?

All sponsorship placements are booked up with only one more weekly spot left until Q4 2024.

We have an engaged B2B audience of 12,000+ founders, creators, SMB owners, and digital entrepreneurs with 54% opens, 5% click throughs.

Past sponsors include: Riverside, Castmagic, AppSumo, Swell, Athyna, Portless, and Chargeflow.

This is your chance to work with us before all of our slots sell out

Details can be found here.

💺 Jetsetter of the Week

Ultimate Tools is the newsletter that helps you discover new marketing tools and useful websites, once a week. Join 20,000+ founders & marketing enthusiasts!

Here's the pitch:

"Discover new marketing tools and insanely useful websites every week. Join 20,000+ marketers, digital entrepreneurs & business owners."

You can subscribe here for free.

✈️ Travel Further With Me

Here are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. Join First Class Founders Membership:

    • Early access to new episodes each week

    • Uncut extended guest interviews that never aired

    • Private ad-free podcast with bonus content each week

  2. Get In Front of My Audience:

    • 25k+ Twitter followers

    • 12k+ Podcast subscribers

    • 12,000+ Newsletter subscribers

  3. Work with Me:

    • Broader strategies on a particular topic

    • Dig deeper into specific tactics on a topic

💬 Final Word

Hi all, I’m thinking of switching to a more traditional guest interview-style format for the podcast.

I know you all enjoy the NPR radio narration style, but just curious what you’d think if we experimented with a new format.

What do you think? Do you like the NPR radio narration style for the podcast or should we try the traditional guest interview format?

Hit reply and let me know!

See you all next week.

Yong-Soo Chung — Serial Entrepreneur, Podcaster

‏‏‎

P.S. How did you like today's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

News

Join the conversation

or to participate.