✈️ How to Build Your HoldCo with Michael Girdley

Inside: HoldCo Legend Michael Girdley's Playbook

First-time traveler? Welcome aboard, Jetsetter! 👋🏼

Before we take-off, there’s one thing you should do:

Join 12,000+ entrepreneurs by subscribing here.

Welcome to First Class Founders, your favorite destination to learn proven strategies to grow your mindset, audience, and business.

Before we begin… a quick word from our sponsor.

📢 Sponsor: Riverside

Jetsetters, you know that I'm super picky about which sponsors I work with. Well, I'm super happy to have Riverside as our sponsor for this episode. Why? Because I love using Riverside to record all my guest interviews on this show.

Yup, that's right. My producer and I use Riverside as part of our podcast production process.

I love Riverside for its seamless recording process with excellent audio quality and backup recording. We also use it to analyze transcripts and extract the best content, enhanced by AI.

Riverside is completely free to sign-up and get started for your first 2 hours. Then, use code "FIRSTCLASS" to get 20% off any paid plan.

Trust me, you'll love using Riverside as much as I do.

⚙️ How to Build Your HoldCo with Michael Girdley

Before we begin today, I have an exciting announcement to make…

My wife and I are expecting our first newborn next week. It’ll change our lives overnight. Literally.

So, today officially marks the end of the first season of the First Class Founders podcast. But fear not… After a one-week break, First Class Founders will be back.

But this time, it’ll be a written, text-based newsletter only. Why, you ask?

Well, it turns out that crying babies, small one-bedroom loft, and a sleep-deprived new father isn’t the best condition for a podcast. Recording ain’t gonna happen.

But, I have good news. I have a TON to share with you. Like how I sold my first business last month. Or, how I decided to become… an operator again in my e-commerce business?! Yeah, that actually happened.

There’s a lot to catch up on, my friend. So I’ll be back on March 27th. (Mark your calendar!)

But, we’re not ending season one of the podcast without an epic grand finale.

Today’s final episode is with Michael Girdley (@girdley). Yeah, the legendary HoldCo Owner, Chili’s fan, Texan.

On this final episode, I sit down with my friend Michael to discuss how he has built a successful HoldCo. We talk about Michael's "Right People, Right Structure, Right Mission" framework, which he uses to build all of his businesses. Michael shares how to find the best people, set up your business the right way, and get everyone excited about the same goal.

Today, you’ll learn:

  • 💻 PHC Organization Structure

  • 💰 How to Propel the Business into Gear

  • 📈 How to Build Your Own Holdco of Multiple Businesses

  • 📱 'Right People, Right Structure, Right Mission' Framework

Here’s the Hyper-Visual summary for today’s episode.

(Click the visual below to enlarge it.)

Here are a few juicy excerpts from today’s episode to get you flowing:

The Journey: "And what I really discovered was that there's this interesting inflection points in people's lives to when they should sign up to be CEOs of different types of businesses." — Michael Girdley (06:24)

Joyful Career: "I think what people should be doing is thinking about the life they wanna live and the things they wanna be doing, and then build companies around that... joy comes from getting to do things that you really love. So build your business around things that give you joy that you get to do." — Michael Girdley (36:40)

📢 Sponsor: Spotted By Humphrey

Jetsetters, I’ve mentioned my French bulldog, Humphrey before. But did you know he has his own boutique shop?

Introducing Spotted by Humphrey, Humphrey’s very own shop. It’s filled with the latest Humphrey-approved adorable dog toys, trendy accessories, and pawsome deals! (Wait, did I just say "pawsome"? Yup, I did.)

So, next time you're up late browsing with your pup snoozing beside you, wander on over and pamper your fur-baby with the perfect gift.

If you have a dog, sniff out the DEAL$ and wag-worthy finds at Spotted by Humphrey.

Use code FIRSTCLASS15 to get 15% off your next order. 🐾

✈️ First Time Listener? Here’s What You Missed…

🏷 Lost & Found

Did you miss these? Each week, I round up all sorts of interesting things I found on the internet that you missed. Enjoy!

🎛 Metrics Dashboard

I'm building First Class Founders in public. Each week, I share my numbers exclusively through subscribers of this newsletter only.

Newsletter:

  • Subscribers: 12,321

  • Open Rate: 56.13%

  • Click Rate: 2.19%

👍🏻 Recommendation: Thinking of starting a newsletter? I use and recommend Beehiiv with powerful features like boosts, recommendations, segmentations, automations, and detailed subscriber metrics.

Podcast:

  • 90-Day Downloads: 7,099

  • 30-Day Downloads: 2,537

  • 7-Day Downloads: 531

👍🏻 Recommendation: Are you looking for a world-class podcast producer? My amazing producer is looking for new clients. He’s the best I’ve ever worked – I recommend him 100%. Hit ‘reply’ to this email if you want an intro!

📢 Sponsor: YOUR BRAND

See what I did there?

All sponsorship placements are booked up with only one more weekly spot left until Q4 2024.

We have an engaged B2B audience of 12,000+ founders, creators, SMB owners, and digital entrepreneurs with 54% opens, 5% click throughs.

Past sponsors include: Riverside, Castmagic, AppSumo, Swell, Athyna, Portless, and Chargeflow.

This is your chance to work with us before all of our slots sell out

Details can be found here.

💺 Jetsetter of the Week

Best Ever CRE is a newsletter dedicated to teaching commercial real estate. They offer featured articles and guides written by industry experts, covering topics ranging from property due diligence and financial analysis to lease negotiation and property management best practices.

Here's the pitch:

"Grow your wealth and become an even better investor with the Best Ever Newsletter. Each week you'll receive expert tips, the latest news, and free tools from the commercial real estate industry for free. Join over 18,500 readers who are learning, investing, and closing deals with confidence."

You can subscribe here for free.

✈️ Travel Further With Me

Here are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. Join First Class Founders Membership:

    • Early access to new episodes each week

    • Uncut extended guest interviews that never aired

    • Private ad-free podcast with bonus content each week

  2. Get In Front of My Audience:

    • 25k+ Twitter followers

    • 12k+ Podcast subscribers

    • 12,000+ Newsletter subscribers

  3. Work with Me:

    • Broader strategies on a particular topic

    • Dig deeper into specific tactics on a topic

Yong-Soo Chung — Serial Entrepreneur, Podcaster

‏‏‎

P.S. How did you like today's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.